Newbie Here With A Couple Of Probs

Molbyj

I've just posted this in the wrong section, so here we go again.

Hi, I'm Ross and new to the bmw world. I have recently purchased a x3 2.0d sport and have since found a couple of issues.

-I'm getting a rumbling at low revs eg when I'm pulling away. I've read that it could be a tyre issue and have noticed my front near side tyre is a lot lower that the offside and so thinking of buying a new front pair ( dunlop 235/50/18 sport 01s I think).

-I've also had a couple of codes come up(engine management light) theses were air mass, exhaust back pressure and partulate filter. I've been advised to change the air flow meter 1st. Is this good advise and where is the best place to find a Bosch one?

Many thanks

P.s enjoying the drive even with the faults.

Hello Ross, and welcome to our community! :)

Hopeeeefully I can help.

I defo need to know more about this rumbling. Describe in more detail what it sounds like? Is it present when the car is stationary or ONLY when moving (at low RPM)?, Any vibrations felt within the cab at all?

This bad tire of yours on one side. Is it even ware across the whole surface or is it more worn on the inner/outer sides? Does changing the PSI of THAT wheel effect the "Rumbling" noise at all? This car being new to you, it MIGHT be that the previous owner has changed the opposite tire on that axle recently but leaving this one?

These fault codes your getting. You might get away with a good clean! :P

You can clean the MAF yourself. I'm yet to have the honor of cleaning one from an X3 but any other MAF I've cleaned is just a case of using a cotton bud, some Carb-Cleaner and a gentle touch. Usually does a good job. MAF is easily identifiable as it sits between the air filter and the inlet manifold. All the respiratory components are subject to quite a bit of Blow-By in Diesel engines due to the higher compression. Oil gets everywhere! :lol: They look like this:

l_fFKp.jpg