Possible New Owner.

Benj

Hi all.

I have been looking at upgrading to a small 1 Series as my next car, I am a young driver so the 116i SE is the only thing that is affordable for me at the minute and will be my first BMW. But there are a few things I want to clear up first and basically just newbie questions that I have.

Firstly, I have spent my first few years modifying the visuals of cars as I have never had anything bigger than a 1.2. My question is; what power gains can be achieved on the 1.6? and what would people recommend as a good starting point when it comes to engine mods.

Secondly, is there a set of coilovers that are supreme to others? what do people recommend. I know you get what you pay for with these things but if I said I was going for maximum lows with some sort of comfort im sure someone can point me in the right direction?

Thirdly, can anyone hook me up with some links to websites where I can browse aftermarket and OEM parts. I want to see what goodies I can get myself!

hope someone can help me out! Sure I will be back in the near future with more questions :P

thanks guys!

Hey mate, happy to hear you're coming over the BMW :)

the 116i is not the fastest motor in the world but does benifit from all the modern pros like being smooth and not sounding like a damn sewing machine like most of the older 1.6 lumps out there. Without spending alot of money, there isn't alot you can really do. You could fit a nice air filter upgrade (panel or cone) and if you're feeling right fruity, you could get someone in the know to have a look at that ECU maybe? Apart from that, not alot. The 116i isn't built for that kinda jazz. The 118i is a 2 litre so you get much more bang for your buck like. You would open the wallet wider for that kind of engine.

Coilovers? There's a fella on here where that sort of shenanigans is right up his alley. Some may say, too far :rolleyes: He'll be along shortly.