New To Bmw- So I'd Like To Tap Your Brains!

worzel

Hi All

I'm new to BMW but not to classic cars- I've mainly owner Lotus Elans which by their design are simpler (cruder some might justifiably say)- but easier to fix certainly.

However, to the point. In Jan this year I bought a 91 525i auto which was advertised as one of those (Timewarp) cars. As it turns out it was pretty accurate description, the body is totally rustfree (even inside the doors) and the blue leather interior is factory fresh.

As usual there are though one or two "issues"- I reckon probably due to minor causes but I'm not sure where to start.

Problem one- I drove it back to Liverpool from Buckinghamshire without any problems (or maybe I didn't notice them) but now I've noticed that when coming to a full stop when the engine is at normal temp there is a momentary surge/hunting for about one or two seconds then the idle steadies.

I've eliminated air leaks as a cause, removed and cleaned the idle control valve, cleaned the MAF and changed the air filter but the problem remains. An un-named garage suggested that at 66000 miles carbon build up was probably causing it but I reckon that's a red herring. the idle control valve was slightly gummed up before cleaning incidentally.

No fault codes are showing- but then again I wouldn't take that to indicate much on its own.

Cold starts are no problem and it idles fine when cold.

Related to this- just how evenly do these engines idle- this is a non Vanos engine that is factory std ie unmodified but it's not quite as sewing machine smooth as I would have thought.

Problem two- are these cars notorious for following the camber? I've had it correctly tracked but it still seems to pull slightly rightwards although at other times it runs arrow straight. No sticking of brakes, tyres are same make, facing the right way (they're directional), pressures are correct, wheel bearings and bushes are ok.