F45 225Xe - "My BMW" App (on both Android and Apple) displaying the wrong charge status

Hello all,

First post - and I admit not a joyous one but hey can't help that.  Scared what BMW will tell me tomorrow...

I've been using the "My BMW" app for quite a few months now, both on my personal Android and on my work iPhone 13. Last month I had to replace my old Android with a new one but I'm not sure this fact has anything to do with the issue I'm writing about here though.

As I say, I've been using the app for a while and it has reliably notified me when charging starts and ends, as well as the current state of charge at any given time (along with the other functions the app offers).

I was away in Asia for all of November and when I came back, I proceeded to put the car on charge. However no notification happened via the app on either of my phones and both reported that the car was not plugged in and had only 59% charge.

Over the course of a day and a half, I went out and unplugged the charger, played with the buttons on the controller thingy in the charge cable and generally tried to fool it back into working. However, the apps (on both android and iphone) remained stubbornly unresponsive and the percentage charge did not change from 59%.

Sunday, I went out in the car and was surprised to see that the charge was 100% (it had been around 48% when I left it). So this implies that charging was in fact happening but that the car was not reporting this charging to the app(s).

Has anyone seen this behaviour before? Any easy fix?

BTW - the car is getting a new 12V battery at BMW tomorrow morning, so I will also ask them if they have any idea about this (but scared what they will say).

Cheers!

TJ

Morning Julian

Welcome to the Forum

Well as they say "every day is a school day" never heard of this but here are my thoughts for what they may be worth.