No hill climb decent or dsc??? Help!

Waters298

Hi guys, 

New to forums so go easy on me haha.

I have a 2005 x5 sport with every option on it and have a series of bugs to fix.

So firstly my CHECK BRAKE LININGS warning is on, i am today changing the pads and sensors so should be no issue.... however i cannot turn on hill climb nor deactivate dsc! Is this due to the warning i have for my pads or is it a seperate issue? When i press the hill descent button i get no light appear on the button. Should these illuminate on the cluster on startup? 

Any help is greatly appreciated, i am an engineer so go nuts with the technical answers/ideas.

Regards,

Lee.

Hi Lee.....welcome to the Forum

I would replace the pads as planned and then see if that resolves the DSC and Hill Start issue.
If it doesn't go then I would advise checking your ABS sensors.

Another thought....are your tyre diameters the same (e.g. same tread depth over the axle set)?

Thanks for the reply, 

Hadn't thought about the abs, however i have no fault codes when i obd check the car. Thread depths are good. Four newish tyres, however i do have one leaning in rear wheel slightly which im assuming is a bush or something... i am having the alignment done next week.

I do still find it odd that i have no light on the hill descent button appear or ability to remove dsc.

Hi Lee

Welcome to the Forum as Trevor has said first change the Pads and Sensors. While you are in there check the ABS sensors and reluctor rings are clean. At 2005 your car is at the change point for AWD and Xdrive does your car have the 5 or 6 speed gearbox? If it's 6 speed you will have xdrive so check the fuses no 44 or 45 can't remember which check your manual. If the fuse is blown or missing you may well have a transfer box issue.